Energy Cooperative Association of Pennsylvania The Energy Co-op Minutes of 2023 Annual Membership Meeting held on June 22, 2023 The Masonic Temple, 1 N Broad Street Philadelphia, PA 19107

- Call to Order At 5:49 PM, Board President Ethan Birchard called the meeting to order and welcomed members and guests. Mr. Birchard also stated that Divya Desai reported that there is a quorum for the meeting by proxy and in-person attendance. Divya Desai and Hillary Bedeian served as proxy designees for members who had duly submitted proxy designations. Mr. Birchard also noted that Finance Coordinator Gabe Hochenberger would serve as Secretary of the Meeting.
- II. Approval of 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes A motion from the floor (Divya Desai) to approve and adopt the minutes of the 2022 Annual Member Meeting was duly made, seconded (Hillary Bedeian), and approved and adopted without objection by voice vote. One abstention from an ECAP member who had not had a chance to review the 2022 Minutes.
- III. Opening Remarks by Ethan Birchard Ethan Birchard delivered general remarks on 2022 volatility, energy prices, and The Energy Co-op's effort for clear communication to the membership on pricing. Ethan noted that The Energy Co-op has undergone multiple staff transitions in 2022 including a change in Executive Directors and multiple additions to The Energy Co-op's staff. Ethan also mentioned that there are four potential additions to the Board which will be announced at the end of the meeting.
- IV. Presentation of Agenda by Divya Desai Executive Director Divya Desai thanked members for coming and explained the agenda. Staff and Board members will present on several topics and be available to answer members' questions. During presentations, staff will tabulate results on the election of candidates to the Board. Following adjournment, members are encouraged to remain for individual conversations.
- V. Treasurer's Report by Damali Harding Board Treasurer Damali Harding discussed the 2022 audited financial results calling attention to The Energy Co-op's REL and RNG growth which was mostly due to an increase in pricing and membership growth. Five-year trend figures for The Energy Co-op's statement of operations and balance sheet were presented to the audience. Damali read a section of the auditor's report which stated that the figures in the 2022 Audit are accurately represented. There was one question from the audience which Damali answered, and Divya Desai commented on as well.
 - a. In 2022 there was significant increase in intangible assets. Has that had an impact on The Energy Co-op's financial growth?
- VI. **Report by Eleanor Fulvio** Energy Program Senior Manager Eleanor Fulvio discussed energy market cost trends and Energy Co-op rates.
- VII. **Report by Eric Miller** Membership Coordinator Eric Miller discussed Energy Co-op member engagement updates and opportunities.
- VIII. **Report by Colin Teague** Marketing Manager Colin Teague discussed fundraising and new website development initiatives.
- IX. **Report by Hillary Bedeian** Operations Director Hillary Bedeian discussed partnerships and mission impact.
- X. **Report by Divya Desai** Executive Director Divya Desai discussed strategic planning and the strategic plan summary.

- XI. **Questions from Members** Divya Desai and others invited and responded to questions from the members in attendance. Staff responded to Member questions listed below.
 - a. Are there ways for non-purchasing community members to become members of The Energy Co-op? Dave Dlugosz (responded to by Divya Desai)
 - b. What follow-up materials will be sent? What resources will be available to members who could not attend the AMM? Bryan Hutchinson (responded to by Eric Miller)
 - c. Why stay at The Energy Co-op while there are other competitive prices available? Johnathan Evans (responded to by Divya Desai)
- XII. Closing remarks from Ethan Ethan elaborated on Divya's response to Jonathan's question.
- XIII. Board Election Ethan Birchard stated that the returning Board members up for re-election were Glenn Bergman, Damali Harding, Jay Reynolds, and Eloise Young and that the new Board members up for election were Maxine Dixon, Ronald Fisher, Devin McDougall, and Sara Shannon. Mr. Birchard then called upon Hillary Bedeian to announce the results of the election. Hillary stated that over 179 members voted in the election either by proxy or in person and all candidates received at least 92% of the votes in favor.
- XIV. **Adjournment** Ethan Birchard requested a motion to adjourn. Upon such a motion, duly made (Troy Boyd), seconded (Hillary Bedeian), and adopted and approved (by voice vote), the meeting adjourned at approximately 6:50 PM.